Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• WTB: Curtiss Jenny prop, circa 1918-19, JN-4 era

Hello

By day I'm a Patent Attorney, but as a hobby I've written a book about the Jenny, using about 100 never-before published vintage photos of a flying school in 1919 of a fellow learning to fly. This has sparked an intense interest in the Jenny in me. Right now I'd love to buy a prop from a Jenny of that era.

If anyone has one for sale, please send a photo and price to me at bollman@mdslaw.com

Thanks!
    Bill

I'm interested in your book. Would you please post details on how a copy may be acquired? Thank you.

Lamar

Comment

Hi Lamar

Thanks for the question about the book. I think it's a pretty sweet book (but I'm biased.) I'm in the process of finding a publisher for it, so it's not available yet. If I can't find a publisher, I'll self-publish, but I'd rather not.

The book explores a fellow's amateur vintage photo album (Edward O. Southard) from 1919. He took lots of photos of his training at March Field in Riverside California. The story of the photos is told by excerpts of letters from William Russel while he was at flying school in Illinois. The two fit together real, real nicely, and tell a fun story (and show) just what it was like to learn to fly in a Jenny - at a time when most people hadn't even seen a plane close up. Lots of crashes shown. I can't imagine hanging out of an open-air bi-plane with a Kodak No. 2 box camera to take some of the photos, but that's what he did! Fun stuff!

I've also attached an image of Edward in front of one of the Jenny's during his training. That's the WOODEN PROPELLER that I'd love to find. Or really, any original Jenny related part would be fun.

Lamar, Email your address directly to me at bollman@mdslaw.com, and I'll print out a copy of the manuscript. If you like it, maybe you can post on this string and help start some buzz!

Thanks again,
      Bill
      Washington, DC

I've attached a moccover from the book