Gipsy Major Prop Identification Request

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Gipsy Major Prop Identification Request

Hello all, I am a flight instructor and Air Cadet ground school instructor in Edmonton, Canada. I obtained a wooden prop today from a generous Co. for the purpose of showing what a propeller/air screw looks like to pilot candidates/cadets in ground school. The prop is not in very good shape and has some of the tip missing on one end but it suits my purposes well and it adds character and begs the question of what is the history of this propeller. As you might know Wop May is from my town and in fact ran the training school I trained at, the Edmonton Flying Club. EFC used DH aircraft including the Moth and Chipmunk.

The prop I have has the following markings:

DRG HR 671 / R / 1
    Gispy Major 1.D
    D6 10 P.3-53

I can guess it was mounted on a Gipsy Major engine but as for the aircraft type I am tossed between a DeHavilland Chipmunk or Tiger Moth or something else.

I would like to know what aircraft this is from.

Photos of prop available on request.

Thank you for your help,

Rob
    dhpropguy

Hello Rob,

I regret that although I have extensive lists of drg nos for DH props, I can't tell which aircraft your prop is from although I can get close.

The diameter of your prop at 6'10" (6.83ft) is unique amongst DH props and therefore something out of the ordinary.

HR671/1 is listed with a Gipsy Major III engine and your diameter and pitch, but without an aircraft type. HR671/R is listed with a Gipsy Major Series 7 for an Auster 6 and 7, without any dimensions. Most Austers used the Cirrus engine and a prop of 6'4" diameter.

The unusual diameter and the scarce recorded data both suggest that your prop is something unusual, possibly from an Auster.

With regards,

Bob
    Bob Gardner
    Author; WW1 British Propellers, WWI German Propellers
    http://www.aeroclocks.com

Comment

Gipsy Major Prop Questions