Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Would like help to ID a prop blade please?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Would like help to ID a prop blade please?

Hi there,
    Im new to the world of vintage propeller collecting but have been offered this prop. It has relevant links to my family so am quite keen to buy it..
    I have included some pictures which should hopefully help with identification.
    An idea of value would be great too..

Many thanks..

Daniel
    Attached Files

It's hard to tell the numbers from the photographs. Can you read them? (It looks as if the surface has been sanded, which can make the stampings hard to read.)

Sometimes you need to use a magnifying glass and move the light source around to varying angles to be able to read them, but they are extremely important to know if you want positive identification, which isn't always possible but it certainly more likely with stamped data.

With what I see it may very well be a Sopwith Camel prop. "F1" seems pretty clear and that's a model number for the Camel. The 130 Clerget engine is correct for a Camel, and the diameter and pitch are also correct, as is the "RH" for "right hand" rotation. What I can't read clearly, but you may be able to infer is the bottom stamping on the photo with "F1" at the top. If that was stamped "AD 644" or "DWG AD 644", then it's clearly a match for the Camel.

See this page for a similar (if not identical) prop. Also this page.

Comment

Thats great! Thanks very much for the information, i can definately make out the 644, until its in my hands though i guess i wont be sure.. When it arrives I shall see what else i can find and post some better pictures.. If it is definately from a Camel could you put an approximate value to it? I have tried to find previous sales figures but so far come up with nothing..